Breeding Auto Feminized Seeds

Hello, I’m fairly new into the breeding subject and I’m studying a lot about this topic recently.
I’m a organic brazilian grower and I have quite a small place for breeding. I would like to share my future plans with you guys and see if I can get some insight.

So… I’m planning on using STS to make the reversal.
This is my plan:
I have 2 favorite autos strains and I would like to make 2 things:

Step 1: make the reversal on auto feminized strain 1
Step 2: polinize auto feminized strain 1 (the same strain, but not the same plant)
Step 3:polinize auto feminized strain 2 (making some hybrids)

Question 1:About the hybrid, the result will be 50% hybrid, 25% strain 1, 25% strain 2 ?
Question 2: About the same strain polinized one, I know they cant be exaclty the same, but the seeds will be geneclty close to the mother ?
Question 3:Can I make the hybrid one a new strain with only feminized seeds? What would this process loke like ?

10 Likes

Welcome to Overgrow @space I would chime in here but I don’t honestly know much about using STS… but rest assured someone will be buzzing in soon with all the info you need

3 Likes

Hello

Answers :
Question 1 : it will depend principally on 2 factors :

• from a seed to other seed, the influence of the mother and the father will change. The only thing you can do is stabilize the characteristics you prefer backcrossing theplant you select
  • some plants (even in the same strain) are more influent in the crosses than others. And their influence depend in the case if the strain is mother or father, and with who, in the cross. For exemple for two plants A and B, the crosses A x B and B x A will not give you the same result.

Question 2 : the answer is normally yes, normally the closest. But a lot of time it’s no. Polinating a plant with herself is making a “S1”. But it don’t function always. For exemple : Triangle kush S1, Cheese S1 are garbage or hermies : I tried 2 times with each.