Concentrate Extraction Techniques

I’m interested to learn a bit more about this subject. I have done my share of consumption of said items, and I quite enjoy. So I have done some research into the different methods people are using to produce the variety of concentrates on the market today. I have some experience with BHO, and it can work nice, then I read about closed loop butane methods, Co2 extraction machines, Vacuum purging, slow cooking, on and on. Then I recently found rosin pressing, and that method seems to me to be the easiest, most cost effective way to create shatter, budder and all form in between.
So what methods are the large scale producers of these concentrates using to churn out their wares?
And if you have firsthand experience with rosin pressing, or any other of these methods, please feel free to chime in and fill in some blanks in my empty head:)

7 Likes

For $2,000 this would be the ultimate Christmas present for most of us! How long until these become standard equipment for discerning connaisseurs? It’s only about 4x the price of the Volcano Vaporizer:

3 Likes

I have a couple of alcohol stills. Since I prefer to use concentrates in edibles it gives me a lot of lattitude in how I work. Its a self sustaining system.
I can brew up batches of hooch , distill it it and store the jars of high proof liquor.

Take my herb and quick wash it with cold spirits and frozen herb.cold filter and distill that and get my alcohol back and have some prime honey. Possibly do a fractional distillation.

Take the washed herb for a long soak, filter, distill that to get my alcohol back and have a full extract for medicine and edibles.
Alcohol is not great for you but its not as toxic as butane.

Rosin is very clean, love the idea of 0 PPM Butane. True medicine there. :slight_smile:

I will not call BHO medicine. its not.