Coronavirus Check-in

I’m not good with words, so if I may quote a wise man;

We need this;

How are you all today? How’s ya family? Have you eaten?

4 Likes

2 posts were merged into an existing topic: Coronavirus Facts and Fiction - January - May 2020 [Closed]

I’ll start the ball rolling…
early on, my cousin in D.C. was exposed to foreign delegates who tested positive for covid. He was ordered to quarantine along with his wife and young kids. No tests were available at the time. Fortunately no one developed symptoms, but it was definitely hard on their nerves. By the time their quarantine ended, the entire city was on lockdown.

My local friends working in the restaurant/ service industry are all getting by on minimal unemployment, they were all hit pretty hard financially.

The sushi restaurant 2 friends work for went bankrupt due to fraud and embezzlement committed by the ceo at the beginning of the crisis. He used the business accounts to pay off his personal debts, and bankrupted an entire chain of sushi restaurants. All of the locations in California, Colorado, Washington closed immediately. My friend is lucky because he works at the original location, and it looks like the other board members are trying to recoup their losses by selling the brand. They need to keep original location open to maintain the viability of the brand.

My sister works online correcting papers and college applications. needless to say her work has dried up due to the closure of all the colleges. Her partner was out of work for several months, but the pizza restaurant she works for was eventually able to get a paycheck protection loan and she was able to resume work.

A few family members across the U.S. have had the virus and lived. 1 in their 20’s, 2 late middle aged in their early 60’s. No one required hospitalization but it wasn’t easy on them. It was a difficult recovery, and I think they all are still having some fatigue and lingering inflammatory symptoms.