Looking for help setting up a room

So I don’t have much experience with the typical trade skills or anything and I’m kind of new to what equipment I’d need for this type of set up. I have an empty bedroom with hardwood floors and about 10x8 of space to grow I want to run an open room (no tents) and ideally automate irrigation for about 100 plants if not more.

Will pool liner suffice to protect the floor from water damage?

Any recommendations on what I should use as a reservoir?

I’ll be using an aeromixer to mix up my salts and I might use the aeromixer to hand water with a hose but I’d like to be able to automate watering to each pot.

I’m kind of concerned about hanging heavy lights from the ceiling due to possible placement issues and my house being old (don’t want the ceiling collapsing or something) I’ve thought about using the metal frames of tents to hang the lights but not having the fabric of the tent around them.

8 Likes

Small area for 100 plants no ?

I’m going to be running small pots (another reason I want automated watering) and pruning branches if necessary so I can hunt a larger number of plants

2 Likes

Post relocated

6 Likes

Brute trash cans work well for reservoirs. Just bought a couple myself. You can get fancy with 55g drums or even hit up your local feed store usually that have some pretty cool options.

A buddy of mine also didn’t want to mess with his room so he built a frame inside the room itself. Not hard to do if you have the tools for the job.

Hopefully you’re on more than 1 - 15amp circuit in that room. Otherwise you’ll be blowing your breaker.

5 Likes

I use a pond liner in my 5x5 flower tent and it has done well. I used it for around 3 years before replacing with a new one. They can get little holes when moving around so I would suggest a quality one. I bought one from Amazon that you looked at it the wrong way and it would rip. The ones I got from home depot work much better, alot more durable.