Michigan state potency testing (CBD)

Today is the big day for the state of Michigan to come to the farm for potency testing (CBD).
Basically have to open your doors and suck up to them for a bit while they remove 6 headies from each cultivar to test thc levels. This is my first time going through this process and wanted to share it here!

Today they are sampling:

Limeade
Bred by 2 snakes seed (Humbolt seed spin off)

Pinesap
Bred by 2 snakes seed

Cherry Wine
Bred by The Heart and Soil Project

So they will be grabbing a clipping from the top 1/3 of the plants. Minimum of 6 cuts per cultivar. Each cut must be 5 - 8’’ long. I have a very small farm…I’m hoping there’s some left after they leave!

8 Likes

That sounds like a crazy amount of material.

Cheers
G

1 Like

My thought exactly!

That does seem like a lot!

Maybe for CBD extraction/testing they need more product?
Because most labs around me only require .5g dry product for a baseline test.

Maybe the inspectors just like to keep their jars filled… :roll_eyes:

7 Likes

:thinking: seems strange to take so much material. Who makes these ridiculous rules?! So frustrating. Best of luck.

good luck!

1 Like

Not sure about with cbd testing but I know my buddy who got my started gets his tested through a company called iron labs, from I was told they have you send in like a 5g sample perstrain for testing potency and terpines and shit.

yeah Iron Labs is good, but that’s for growers to test themselves, I think that @BorderTownBud is starting a commercial CBD grow, that obviously has a crazy set of hoops for him to jump through

3 Likes

Who’s Michigan send out for such a task anywho? Do they send it to MSU? I applied to Pincanna when they first started building and they never bothered even responding, I think because I’m a felon, which I guess is understandable but still annoying as fuck.

Got my 3a, 3b, and 6 here in Michigan so I know a small amount of the bullshit from LARA and MDARD

SO