Coco experience anyone?

My friend got an automatic watering system for his coco grow. It has a max and min setting for moisture percentage. We are trying to figure out how to set it up. We started at 80 at the maximum, and 25 at the minimum. I understand it is hard to overwater with coco, so should the minimum be higher than this?

Also he set his max nutrient level at 1400 ppm, which is what he is aiming for, and his minimum at 1200. Does this sound OK? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

3 Likes

Hello @Badger. I’ve been growing in coco for a few years now and think it’s an awesome medium once you get a few things figured out. I do hand watering, drain to waste, so can’t really help you with the automatic watering system, but if you mean it keeps the coco 80% saturated at max, and 25% saturated at minimum, then I would say 80-100% saturation should be your aim on the high end, and 50% saturation on the low end. It is almost impossible to over water in coco as long as the plants have the root system capable of handling frequent waterings. Water for plant size at first until the root systems develop, but never allow the coco to become completely dry. Doing so will cause salt build up in the coco, and burn your plants. Once plants are established, you can water frequently for explosive growth. I aim for at least 10% run off to avoid salt build up. What nutes are you using? I use GH maxi series for veg and flower. For my particular plants, I haven’t gone below 550 ppm, or above 650. I tried to push them by giving them 680 ppm and I got tip burn. 1200-1400 seems really high to me, but each set up and situation is different. I would start around 550 ppm and adjust accordingly depending on what the plants are telling you. Hope this helps some. Peace.

12 Likes