Connecting household LED bulbs in parallel.

I’ve a low budget grow setup with a DIY light made out of a wooden board and some 12W household LED bulbs connected in series. This works fine. But I want to use the same fixture to power my seedlings and be able to remove bulbs from their sockets in order to reduce the brightness or wattage when needed.

This obviously can’t be done in a series connection as the whole light fixture would stop working if I pulled out a bulb. My question is, is it safe to wire the bulbs in parallel and connect the fixture to a 220V 6A wall socket?

What precautions / modification in circuitry would I need to take? I’m very new to the electrical stuff, so looking to err on the side of caution so I don’t end up burning my house down or trip the circuit breaker.

Any input would be helpful. Thank you.

1 Like

Pretty sure that’s how most fixtures are wired up already.

See my bathroom fixture (excuse the dust):

Two bulbs, one bulb. No problems.

Disclaimer: I know Ohm’s law but I am not an electrician :zap::skull_and_crossbones:

4 Likes

I wouldn’t plug 220v on 12w leds.

What you could do is make say 2 banks of lights, each controlled by its own light switch. That way you can have some control over the sauce.

Removing a bulb should not shut the next bulbs :thinking:

3 Likes

Do you live in one of those countries where 220V mains voltage is used?

That might be an important detail.

3 Likes

Valid. I had an european coffee machine you needed an electrical engineering degree to use it in Canada :joy:

5 Likes

Yes, India. 220v is the standard here.

3 Likes

Why not? I’m using a maximum of 8 bulbs. I’m aiming for about 90 Watts for a single plant grow.

So that would be 8x12 = 96 watts with much more room for other appliances, right? (this is in series)

1 Like

Good idea. Unfortunately I’m limited by the number of sockets and space in my grow area.

1 Like