Electrical issues

So I have plug in cords from my ballast to my sockets. My thousand watt hps works on both cords but my metal halide will not work on cord that my hps does. Could it be a polarity issue?

2 Likes

I’m no electrician. Electricity is one thing I’m extremely weary around, it usually only bites the once.
That said, have you checked the basics, which is about all I can help with.
The mh bulb itself is okay?
Can you try it with another ballast?
The only mh that I ever used hung vertical as opposed to the horizontal hps bulbs I’ve seen. Don’t know if they can be used on the same ballast?
Like I said, I’m very weary of electricity, but we have some bright sparks here (pun intended) that will be along and be able to give you better advice than I can.

5 Likes

Ya step one is test that ballast with a different bulb, and/or that bulb with a different ballast. An HPS ballast will fire an MH bulb of the same wattage so you could even try like that.

3 Likes

from the ballast to the lamp fixture (bulb) correct?

same question?

on both cord sets? is the bulb known to be good that is not lighting?

probability not

what type of ballast? digital ? magnetic?

what type of bulb single ended? double ended?

post a picture of what you have and I am sure you will be helped

all the best and good luck

Dequilo

3 Likes

This was already asked, but is the cord from the wall power to the ballast or the ballast to the bulb?

If you are trying to use the same ballast for both bulbs, then thats probably what is wrong. Most ballasts only work with one or the other - not both.

If the cord is running from the wall to two different ballasts - one for the HPS and one for the MH, then it might be a problem with the ends of the cord - worn or loose contacts etc.

Yes. This will clear things up.

2 Likes

most digital/electronic ones work with both

a picture would help a lot

all the best

Dequilo

3 Likes