HCIO(hypochlorous acid) for sterile res

Been running a sterile res with clorox without issue so far but I I’ve been looking into better alternatives anyways and came across this stuff. Hypochlorous acid - Wikipedia
What is Hypochlorous Acid (HClO)? - Definition from MaximumYield

Anyone have experience using it?

3 Likes

Upon further investigation it’s literally just what regular bleach turns into when diluted in water. Guess I’ll keep doing what I’m doing since it seems to work. :man_shrugging:

4 Likes

pool shock is cheaper. also has its chlorine bonded to calcium instead of sodium

3 Likes

The amounts of calcium and sodium are 100% negligible at normal bleach dosing levels, IDK anyone running more than 1mL of 6% bleach per gallon…most people I talk to it’s closer to 0.1-0.2mL/gallon. And it’s already in liquid form, dirt cheap, and widely available.

2 Likes

Question since I’m still learning hydro, is bleach better than peroxide? I started using a tsp of 3% h2o2 in my 3qt dwc resevoir when I started having some issues.

Please teach me og hydro folk.

1 Like

Bleach is a bit more persistent, but neither last long.

I’d pick bleach, personally.

2 Likes

Haven’t tried h202 but thats just because I can’t source 30% food grade cheap enough. And bleach fucking works. Infact I’m pretty sure it was @vernal who put me on to it when I had serious root rot problems with a g13 she was to far gone to recover but as a preventive measure its been perfect and doesn’t effect bud taste or quality.

1 Like

It’s nice when the dollar store carries your hydro gear lol.

3 Likes

I get my epsom salt there too :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Me too!

Ok, so how much bleach do you use? I’m doing a res change tonight and I’m down to try it. I’ve been fighting something on my roots and want to knock that shit out.

You can go to 1mL+/gallon without negative effects, but most people don’t go past 0.5mL/gallon, and like Eugene said, he only runs 0.1mL/gallon for maintenance.