Help! Feeding/fertilizing

I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed over here. I’ve gotten so many wonderful recommendations in fertilizing I have some questions, may be dumb idk. I am new to this so I want simple. I had bought organic potting soil and was going to do them in pots outside but after tilling a garden in my yard I realized my soil is nearly black. That being said my soil is obviously rich with nutrients would you still fertilize using that soil? If so what is something simple, harmless and preferably not a chemical? This and harvesting/curing are my biggest fears as of now lol.

3 Likes

@Meesh can guide you through this one :wink: :tractor:

Have some LITFA on me. :v:

:thinking: somewhere around here we have a nice pyramid diagram of soil structure (sand/loam/clay/silt). you’ll need a clear jar/glass & some water, & be-spoke dirt. :tongue:

:evergreen_tree:

4 Likes

My guess is it’s had great organic matter added in the past the top layers will be the darkest . How far down does it go til it lightens up?

3 Likes

Compost, worm castings, cow manure…most manures really. Sounds like nice soil but none of those can hurt!

3 Likes

How your earthworm counts in there? Say 1x1x8-10 inches deep or so? They are good indicators of soil health, great soil will look like black cottage cheese full of aggregate composition .

3 Likes

Honestly at least 18” I live in an old established neighborhood right next to a spring fed creek. I imagine people have been using this land for a long time, it’s one of the oldest places in my state. I’m confident in the soil. My garden has already started taking off, my other garden is still inside hah I just don’t want to over or under do it.

2 Likes

This is the answer I think I’m looking for! Worm castings are bought I have manure. Thank you!

2 Likes

So many earthworms in fact we had another couple over and our kids were in the sprinkler and the one little boy found 30-40 just in the area they were in the sprinkler blew my mind!