High end smart phones have light meters / hygrometers built in!

Im probably behind the curve here, but it may help someone else. i own a samsung galaxy s7, and i just discovered theres multiple apps that exploit the built in sensors on your phone. for instance i just got one called Photometer that replaces my old handheld light meter. Another that shows all weather related sensors that i use for humidity/ baro-pressure, and will even do highs and lows. so without leaving my phone in the grow room. theres also little boxes you keep in your grow room, connected to your phone via bluetooth. Tech at its finest!@ i just went to the app place and searched 1. Light meter 2. Temperature humidity. and boom im not too tech savvy for an ol’ fart, so if anyone knows of an all inclusive app that does these things. post on brother!

6 Likes

You sure the light meter works how acurate compared to your handheld light meter

1 Like

To Be honest my meter is 15 +yrs. old and requires special batteries that i dont want to hunt down atm. To answer your Q. NO i am not sure and your probably absolutely right on accuracy. but in a pinch., I have one!!

1 Like

I can only find lux meters do they have one for ppfd

this is what i found, because the meter is only for photo purposes. looks like a no but, there is some conversions
Press #0# on a samsung galaxy android Phone, tap the ‘sensor’ button, then tap the ‘light sensor’ button and you can start measure your light setup, in LUX.

A LUX meter will not measure PAR, generally speaking when measuring LUX, the light sensor prefers to pick up more green light, so spectral outputs can either be under or over estimated, depending on the light source.
UPDATE:: Galaxy sensors does humidity,temp,and lux. all in one page

PAR is light that’s used for photosynthesis; Photosynthetic Available Radiation, PAR meters measure light between 400-700nm.