How to build soil from hardpan and clay

If you’ve ever found yourself facing a challenging site for your gardening, this will make you feel better, and hopefully show you what is possible with determination, grit, and LOTS of manure. I’m not an expert when it comes to explaining why this or that works, or why something else doesn’t work as well, or what is going on scientifically in the ground. What I am an expert in, is my ability to make a grow site based on only one thing…sunlight…and to make it work. :wink:
This year my wife and I are prepping a new location for growing garlic. If I were to prep this location for growing weed, I’d do things exactly the same. Well…almost. I was not home when a neighbor built the raised beds for us with machinery. All the topsoil was stripped, and the mounds were made of clay, hardpan and subsoil. Unghh. The horror! No topsoil. Zero. Garlic needs to be planted by LAST week, and I have 4 days, including yesterday, to finish the beds. My wife has already been picking rocks for 2 weeks at this point, and there is no machinery available to reclaim any topsoil. My wife and I both have herniated disc’s in our spines, so busting up the piled sod ain’t gonna happen. I have to use what’s at hand in the mounds…and it’s an ugly mess.
The location is on a slight grade, so the mounds run downhill to avoid standing water in between. Again…I’d like to stress that I was at work when the mounds were built…this is what I have to work with.

Tools available include shovels, rakes, hoes and a tiny rototiller. First the clods of clay and hardpan/ subsoil must be broken up by hand. The rototiller won’t do the job. Rocks are tossed at this time as well.
Next, composted horse manure is added by hand. This is the good shit, lol. We inherited a large pile when we bought our house. Horse manure is the best option for fixing dense soils. It has a much higher ratio of air than other manure such as from cow, sheep or pig.