RO water and CalMag

Hi OGers,

I have recently bought myself an RO filter because the water in my area is extremely hard. (0.65 EC).
I have never prepared nutrients with RO water before so i’m a real beginner in this area.
I am setting up a RDWC system eventually and am finding it hard to get info on the use of CalMag. (perhaps i am just not using the right keywords in my searches). I often see information about what ratios to use for specific CalMag products but I also often see comments like “You may not need to use any if using Hydro” and a lot of other contradicting info but not much mention of RO water.
My question is:
If I use RO water that is EC of 0 and I intend to use Nutrients like the Canna 2 part nutrients. What EC should I bring the water up to with CalMag as a starting point if I am using it in a DWC system before adding the nutrients? Or are there other factors involved?
Thanks.

2 Likes

I would add 1ml of cal/mag or litre of water on top of your base nutrient line up.

Then check see where it is at ec wise.

My mate runs DWC still and I run Coco now. He said his plants were slow growing and gave him the same suggestion his garden looked lush last time I saw it.

Peace

Bonged

@Bongedtobits Thanks mate. Good to hear you have a story to back it up too. :slight_smile:
I will go with that to start with and see how we go. :+1:

1 Like

@BudSy Nps matey. I’m sure other people can share there experience to help even more.

Just wants to share something I learnt from actual observation.

Check your PH after adding the cal/mag to the base as it may go up.

Peace

Bonged

1 Like

You should always add cal mag to ro water first then your base nutes. Not doing so could cause fallout.

7 Likes

@SeymourGreen, thanks, I was intending to. I figured the calcium and magnesium would normally be in the water before I add my Nutes if I wasnt using RO water so would add CalMag first.

3 Likes

You hit the nail on the head :grin:

2 Likes