SOG - Seeds vs Clones

I’m in a newly green state and looking to set up a small commercial operation. Luckily for for me, the floor space is all that is taken into account for the tier level, so with a high enough ceiling, I should be able to rack and grow two levels as SOG. Thing is, I have come to an impasse in terms of methodology. Already decided to use a Dutch bucket type of array to grow them and as Sea of Green to maximize my turnover and output in a very limited space. I have limited experience with SOG, mostly when I first started and had a 5’ high 8*4 space to grow in. I was still using dirt which I also haven’t worked with (and won’t again) since 2003, but I do know that if I want to keep my density high and my output fast between harvests, SOG is the way to go. The problem I gave now is this:

1. Do I dedicate an entire space to mothering, and an entire space to cloning, which would eat into my profitable space? Or…

2. Spend the extra on bulk fem beans and go straight from seed to flower, keeping my entire space profitable?

Granted the second option would definitely lead to my breeding, but that would be off-site in a separate op, because beans are expensive and free beans plus waste I can profit off of by sending it to extraction is a positive in my book.

Typically, given the legality I would grow eight big ole donkey dicks per plant mainlining in ~20gal RDWC, but that’s a lot of trimming and training, but since I want to keep my personnel roster to just me, I feel it would become a job, and I fuckin hate jobs. But I’m not growing for personal use, it’s about supplying a pair of dispensaries and eventually opening my own so I’m not getting gutted by low-ball bulk pricing.

So, is there any advantage to clones over seed aside from upfront price to roll?

TIA

KK

4 Likes

Clones would shave a couple weeks off the turn around time. But you would definitely have a loss of canopy space.