Bruce Banner: Up Close & MACRO - Stacked Macro Image

Hey OG,

I am a commercial photographer and I work with some pretty awesome boutique craft cannabis cultivators, here’s a stacked focus image of Alt-Sol Cannabis Bruce Banner:

I took about 20 single images shot @ f11 with two studio strobes, my Laowa 100mm 2x Macro lens on a tripod using a focus rail. This technique allows for the entire image to be in focus, in a standard macro the field of view (what’s in focus) is super narrow, with most of the image blurry bokeh with stacking the images by combining them back together via software you can get clarity. Then you can have fun cropping in for those hyperreal details.

I am starting a home grow very soon and I can’t wait to post some of my own cola, cutting, nug shots.

Questions and comments welcomed, thanks OG.

35 Likes

Very nice :ok_hand:

2 Likes

Welcome, glad to see another DMV member :+1:

4 Likes

I have a buddy that does image stacking with a focus rail. He takes close to 100 shots and then the computer takes hours to compile them. The finished photos are so crisp and clear it’s incredible. Best of luck with your new garden and I can’t wait to see your pics.

5 Likes

That bud is begging to have a bong hit pinched off…….

1 Like

The technique is definitely a labor of love, but the results can be stunning…

Here’s a crop from another image of purple kush, I wish we had scratch and sniff screens!

22 Likes

That batch of Bruce was inspiring!

:sunglasses: :ok_hand: :facepunch:

1 Like

did you take this picture? pretty cool. i love their panama red. the wife loves the el chivo.

3 Likes

I take most of their images, that Panama Red is the bomb… so is their Acapulco Gold, love the OG strains!

1 Like

Photos look great! What software are you using to stack? I had a trial of Helicon Focus which worked great but it expired and I have been too cheap to purchase a license

2 Likes