Convince me to switch to Coco

I’ve never used coco coir before. Honestly, I don’t know much about it, but I hear some people swear by it.

What are the pros and cons? Give me your best pitch.

5 Likes

Haven’t used it before personally before what are you coming from? One thing it’s seems is it’s a more of a sustainable resource when compared to spaghnum peat if that’s a concern.

2 Likes

Whats your current preference in soil vs hydro, and also what medium do you currently set your roots in?

1 Like

Soil, no hydro for me.

1 Like

If it ain’t broke no sense trying to fix it! Lol

2 Likes

its the transition gap between the two, as you can kinda run it both ways.

If your watering is on spec coco coir will out perform soil just comparing media volumes vs output.

But im the use what you have type, is it better than peat based mixes, yes…

cheap and worth a try :wink:

2 Likes

Don’t do it !
:wink:

Tried canna Coco slabs back in 2004 and it’s been a hell of a run… Never again .
DS
Edit : as @Esrgood4u said , dwc all the way !

3 Likes

Coco for me at least sits between soil and pure dwc. I recommend bubble buckets over coco.

On the left is dwc. The 4 top right are in Coco and the 4 bottom right are in soil (planted 10 days or so after the dwc and coco)
I rest my case :laughing:

9 Likes

Aight so assuming you’re using peat, the coco holds so much more air. If peat and perlite had a baby, that baby would be coco chips. It also seems that the water doesn’t absorb into the coco, and only adsorbs to the surface, so overwatering is unlikely.

If you want to try coco, I would suggest adding 50% by volume coco of your choice to your current medium, and going about business as usual.
(Not a fan of pure coco.)

5 Likes

Yeah I agree with the pure coco statement. This is my 1st try with pure coco and they need more attention I’m watering almost daily. I’ve resorted to bottom feeding as it was all to time consuming. It’s the 1st and last time I’ll use it

2 Likes