DIY Rooting Gel

Going off a genius suggestion by GrowersGoneWild, we’re pondering experiments with a couple different additives using honey as a base. We’re working on having the parameters drawn up this week and we’ll update ya.

2 Likes

this is what I’ve been doing for many years. Sometimes simple is best!

2 Likes

I’m on the fence about this, I dont think a gel is actually needed, aerocloners, for example dont really use the gel.

I’ve done some work with NAA and IBA in tissue culture, and either are soluble in water, so you need ethyl or sodium hydroxide to dissolve it if you were to use it in a solution. Off the top of my head IBA needs Ethyl alcohol to dissolve, NAA is sodium or potassium hydroxide.

Either way a very small ammount of either hormone is used to formulate the gel.
The gel base could be something as common as Xanthan Gum. However I have to try this myself but I have worked with Xanthan Gum before. It might work well because you are using serial dilution to get to the proper hormone level.

The other non gel alternative that I discussed with a professional in the pharmaceutical industry is using IBA/NAA and to use an aliquot to dilute the hormones to the correct level. Perhaps dextrose or something similar.

I’ve found that most commercial formulas are very cost effective, and I clone alot,
~600 to 800- clones a year so unless you are experimenting with concentrations even I’m not going to make a gel.

HOWEVER…

For the thread IF I was to DIY a Rooting Gel.

Aloe Gel + Honey

Or

Dip N Grow + Xanthan Gum, Dip N Grow is usually used in a 1:10 concentration with water for cannabis It already has IBA and NAA in it. Soo… you could make something “stronger” by increasing the ammount of Dip N Grow to the solution.

4 Likes

the theory with the honey is that the natural anti-bacterial properties prevent the stem from rotting, and the sugars give the plant a bit of fuel. When I used Clonex they didn’t root any faster.

1 Like