Do you fertilize differently when making seeds?

Just wondering if the plant making seeds will demand higher/different levels of nutrients. I’m sure there is science that says so, but just curious if it really matters that much, practically speaking.

9 Likes

Good question!
:green_heart: :seedling:

2 Likes

Honestly I use Expert gardener water soluble fertilizer for seed runs. It’s dirt cheap and since I grow in coco I just run it the same as my normal plants. But I don’t use anything from my seed runs so I don’t care about the quality of the flowers or trichs. Plus it’s enough to make a nice healthy seed so that’s all I care about.

Now if you wanted to save the plant material to make hash or something then you may want to use something a little better.

4 Likes

I was just thinking about that for the seed run I am doing.

4 Likes

From what I got during my seed run people said just feed as normal and that worked fine. That said I am by no means an expert. I would think that in nature they would not get a food change while seeding. What do you think @lefthandseeds and @DannyTerpintine ?

4 Likes

Last seed run I did used a 7/7/7 tomato fertilizer. My regular feed is 5/15/14

2 Likes

I just feed my plants normal I don’t want to upset anything

4 Likes

no i feed normally

5 Likes

Well, compared to what I’m smoking yes. I do 3 weeks plain water for my smoke. With seeds it’s feed to the end.

But just in general most or less the same. Maybe 5-10% stronger ppms than normal. If I do the same as normal I may get slight deficiencies imo - and I like to make sure the seeds have what they need.

9 Likes

I have organic soil and additives. I have been dumping it after each gets finished. For the seed run I want to figure out reg soil and chemicals as they won’t be smoked or eaten to make sure they are getting everything as needed.
I have no normal for this :laughing: So am trying to learn and dial in before I start.
All ideas are being listened to.

1 Like