Exhausting between walls….

So I’m finally dialed in but I’ve got a concern with my exhaust. I have a floor in the joists in the basement ceiling that is placed between two studs in the above room encompassed by drywall sheets on both sides. This runs up to the attic where it exhausts. I was not able to run a piece of ducting through this void space as there’s electrical wire that runs through and I couldn’t pass even a 4” round duct by it. Any thoughts. I’m concerned moist warm air will quickly wick into my drywall sheets and I’ll see damage in the rooms above. Thoughts?

5 Likes

You’re right to be concerned, don’t do it.
Unless it’s a rental and you really don’t care at all, cause that’ll wreck your shut up. But yeah, don’t do it.

4 Likes

upon thinking about it, is there room to run an equivalent to a 4" round duct by the wire? i used to be a carpenter and built a lot of houses and modified several grow areas. 4" round vent is 12.56 sq in, so a rectangular piece of duct that is 8in x 1 3/4in gives you 14 sq in. if you go 1in x 14in you get the same amount of air moving if you can’t get the 1 3/4in duct by the wire. you should be able to run the rectangular duct behind the wire and slide it up to the top plate of the wall but you’ll have to make a connector so you can hook the round vent to the rectangle vent. if you get a roll of thin flashing and some duct tape it isn’t that hard to make ducts but wear gloves because it’s like making little razor blades.