Reconfiguring my indoor exhaust setup

So, I’ve been growing indoor year-round for a few years now, but two factors changed this year that makes it very difficult to maintain a good temperature and humidity in my tents.

1. It is much warmer this year. Outdoors, this week alone was 104F pretty much every day, with humidity in the 90-100% range. It is usually very humid here, but we also usually get enough rain to drop the pressure. Not much at all this year, and long heat and humidity streaks as a result.

2. I added a new lung room with a new tent – more about my setup follows.

So, both of my lung rooms (the room where tents reside) are sealed in a furnished basement. 1 of my lung rooms contains 2 tents – a 3x3x6ft with a 300W LED, and a 2x4x5ft with a 240W LED. The new lung room has a 3x3x6ft with a 260W LED. Each tent has an active outtake inline fan, controlled with thermo-hygrometers and software I wrote to switch on a mini heater in the tent, or the exhaust fan.

Inside both lung rooms is a good AC unit (which can function as a dehumidifier if needed, but I’ve found the drying of the air by AC-mode alone is sufficient). These AC’s vent through separate 6in ducting through the wall to an adjacent, unfurnished side of my basement. This side has 3 windows that I leave open for warm air to escape, but I don’t run the ducting to the windows – they stop near the wall they go through.

Now, this unfurnished side of my basement that is collecting all the heat has always been warm from this setup, and my VPD has always been spot on, until this past week when it became much hotter, when I added the new lung room, from more hot AC air exhausting, and hotter weather to boot. It turns out, the reason why is because I also vent the active tent exhaust systems into this same room, and backflow of heat occurs when fans are not running or are low enough speed.