FYI top tier carcinogen

So like most I always figured booze was harmful. The obvious with the liver and such. But for whatever reason I never knew of it as a cancer causing thing and certainly not to the extent that it is.
I would imagine most people , like myself, do not know that it is

" Alcohol has been classified as a Group 1 carcinogen (carcinogenic to humans) for decades by the International Agency for Research on Cancer. It’s right up there with tobacco and asbestos. Alcohol is also a [top cause] of [preventable cancer] after smoking and obesity. "

19 Likes

Oh great, now you tell me. Ive been drinking alcohol for 50 years

6 Likes

It’s the worst drug there is, by every available metric. Literal poison. I have a love/hate relationship with it.

Almost every bad thing that’s ever happened to me or my family is directly or indirectly linked to booze.

23 Likes

I come from a long line of traumatized alcoholics it is one of the reason I went the pothead route, and I still somehow never knew just how carcinogenic it is.

7 Likes

As misguided as Prohibition was, there was a PROBLEM at the time. People drank several times more than they do now…like unimaginable levels of drunkenness. 2.5 gallons of pure alcohol/year per adult. And people were smaller then lol.

But yeah, liver cancer, throat cancer, mouth cancer…it’s a nasty drug. Root cause of so many social problems too.

It’s crazy that many of the so called “hard drugs” are objectively better for you than booze.

13 Likes

Governments seem to be OK with massive amounts of people dying in preventable ways as long as they get their cut of tax money for it unfortunately.

12 Likes

Have to agree with Vernal. Its poison plain and simple.

10 Likes

Booze is the worst. The worst. I know many people who have either died from acute toxicity or because their livers gave out early from a lifetime of the stuff.

My dentist is strongly against alcohol based mouthwash.