How do I make more seeds for breeding?

Recently I acquired 5 seeds of an unknown Zacatecas plant. I want to get more seeds to explore all the different traits and phenos. Should I grow all the seeds and self all the females with them selfs and save any males that may show up. Or should I just do an open pollination if any males sprout. Im still very new to this so I don’t want to ruin it.

11 Likes

If you are looking to explore the best thing in my opinion is open pollination.

16 Likes

I agree with Doug, open pollination is the best bet to maintain as much genetic variation as possible.

10 Likes

keeping the males and open pollenate, reason is then you will have more seed to hunt through for later if you decide to spray and keep the chosen female going. having the regs will be the best option to do

4 Likes

You can also selectively pollinate parts of your females so you can have some unseeded bud to try. That way you can focus on the seeds from the plants you liked best.

8 Likes

I disagree with open pollination. If you have 10 plants, 5 males and 5 females, surely you can eliminate the worst 2 of each and end up with better stock for it. There’s always at least one crappy plant compared to the rest. Open pollination will yield hemp eventually. The plant is always trying to return to a feral state.

With 5 seeds your options dwindle, though. Assuming they all germinate fine, even. If you end up with 2-4 plants it’s even harder and you’ll be more or less forced to use all the plants.

10 Likes

Vernal, I get you point, but I feel the selections should happen in the divergent generation (F2). It is not uncommon to cull off types when you have a large enough population though

3 Likes