Little white lies by light companies

Ok so I found these articles in a deep rabbit hole dive. I’m no expert when it comes to lights but I have fallen for a few of these “gimmicks”. At the end of the linked article there is a few more white lie articles about LEDs.

4 Likes

theyre doing some lies themselves… im guessing to sell their lies - i mean, lights.

for example, they say most of green light is not absorbed. while many might cite the mccree curve, the quantity is still more absorbed than reflected, specially under high intensity circumstances (like we grow cannabis under).

i prob sound like a parrot, but looking for info on this by Bugbee or DesignLight Consortium (independent light qualifier) is probably more reliable than getting your info from just another competitor in a market filled with incomplete info and disinformation, like the grow light market.

8 Likes

Consider the source

3 Likes

I only read the first article but, what is the issue? He seemed to just be stating the obvious, without explaining the specifics, such as how, although higher luminous efficacy often indicates superior performance, it doesn’t necessarily mean that the LED is the best fit for all application and, that other factors such as color quality, lifespan, and cost-effectivene should also be considered.

3 Likes

I’ve been looking at that companies offerings for a while now for a 3x3, the 2 channel driver looks the treat.
The cost is not a ‘treat’…

3 Likes

I’m a budget grower and I don’t see many people talking about Bestva, I Have their 100w and 200w pro versions in my 2x3, too much light for the space, the pair of them was under $300 and I absolutely love them. Been my go to ever since. I personally always over light my space that way I can always dim them.

5 Likes