Plastic pots vs fabric bags pros/cons

Hey everyone I’d love to hear your thoughts on the pros and cons of good old plastic pots and fabric bags.
So I’m used to the good old black plastic pots with a saucer
But a mate introduced me to the plastic air root pruning nipple pot thingys lol which are also great but I have noticed they dry out heaps quicker than a standard pot. And now I’ve got my hands on some quality 20 ltr fabric bag pots
I’ve never used them before so I’d love to hear anyone’s thoughts on all the above and tricks and tips.
I should also note that the roots in the standard plastic pots are sensational, super white and lovely.
So I’m a tad nervous I’ll derail the train so to speak.
All pots/bags have a quality mix of coco/perlite.
And fed liquid nutrients.
Thanks guys!

9 Likes

I use the fabric from gardzenonline.com, roots need to breath and fabric is more forgiving on overwatering, then u have price point, fabric is much cheaper than plastic pots :person_shrugging: I’ve stocked up on every size up to 30 gallon and running strong still 2 years later since we legalized

8 Likes

I use alot of those pots aswell.

As to the OP:
I’ve become a fan of fabric pots for the same reasons @AzSeaindooin420 has stated. They allow extra oxygen and root pruning capabilities. I also enjoy the convenient handles a lot. The downsides would be that they can sometimes be difficult to find reasonably priced saucers for and if you water to quickly on a dry medium the water will find it’s way to the sides and begin leeching out.
I enjoy being able to poke holes wherever I want when needed for tie wire to train, just like plastic, but a strong plant will do a lot more tugging of fabric and need to be adjusted accordingly.
Another plus side to fabric pots is that they require a hell of a lot less space to store them. :slight_smile:

13 Likes

Grassroots & other companies make plastic lined fabric pots. A hybrid between the 2 choices :+1: