Peat or fabric pots?

I’d like to get real life experience from people using peat pots and fabric pots to directly transplant into the ground. Which ones are better at allowing the roots to penetrate it and spread out into the surrouns?

1 Like

I have zero experience with peat pots, but the fabric pots I used did not let any roots through at all. I have seen pics of other people with fabric pots that lets lots of roots through, so I think it will depend on the brand. I got mine from Home Depot.

1 Like

I have up-potted a fabric pot by putting it in a larger one. The fine roots definitely grew through it, but not the tap root.

2 Likes

You could probably use a box cutter or razor knife to cut some slits in the fabric before putting it in the ground.

1 Like

I used peat to transplant in my veggie garden and it took noticibly longer for the tomatoes to take. Even after harvest pulling them up, the peat was largely intact and you could tell the plant was struggling to get through it.
No experience with burying the fabric but with my fruit trees I can tell ya burlap works fine

3 Likes

My plan was to run a bunch of auto’s guerrilla style so they’d be done before the flying monkeys come back around. I was hoping to start then in 4" peat pots or 1 gallon fabric pots and save some work by just planting the whole container. If all goes well I’d be reusing the spot again, either for more auto’s or next year.

From the sound of it, I’d be better off digging holes and transplanting the usual way.

2 Likes

You bet it does.

They’ll run right through it.

1 Like

i’ve used coco pots and planted the pot while up potting, worked great. my no name fabric pots all have roots growing out of the bottom because the catch trays are just smaller than the pots so theyre sitting on top of them instead of in

2 Likes