A Newbies Guide to Newbie Things to Avoid

There may be many threads like this, but this one is mine…

I was fortunate enough to jump into growing through circumstances. I also figured, if I can grow, farm, and propagate the most difficult and most colorful corals, “weed” should be easy. Well, yes and no, I’m happy to say that most of the chemistry and nutrient stuff was quickly absorbed thanks to my reefkeeping experience and I quickly fell in love with growing. Also, although I’m only a hobbyist, I’ve read just about everything I can get my hands on regarding reefkeeping, including several text books and hundreds of research papers. What’s the point you say? When I love something I take a heavy and deep dive and have been learning daily about cannabis for a year, through reading and through trial and error.

So, to help some folks that maybe don’t have the time or patience to sift through gobs on info, here’s my list of the most important lessons I wish someone had told me about when I started!

1.) Like any involved hobby that involves growing something, or something alive like pets or plants, there are a lot of fads and there are a lot of things in expensive bottles that you simply don’t need.

2.) Some parameters are more important than others, as a new grower you should focus on these things first and foremost

A.) Nutrients: Ensure you have all 17 required nutrients for life. This can be achieved by way of as little as one bag of inexpensive fertilizer, or by way of a more expensive duo of trio of bottles from a respectable company . Anything above and beyond that is not needed to grow beautiful weed, at least when it comes to adding things to soil/water//coco/whatever. Everything beyond that should be questioned (also see #1}.