About to try converting a female plant

I’m a fairly novice grower, and I’ve never bred seeds before. But, I think I want to try creating seeds this fall. :slight_smile: I want your input on my “thinking” here. Again, I’m just looking to making a lot of seeds here – selfies, I believe they are called.

So, using my actual (tentative for now) plan. . .

I’ve got 3 Laughing Buddha (Jamaican x Thai) seeds from Barney’s. I anticipate liking it and wanting seeds. So should I germ all three, take a clone of each, silver nitrate the clones, and keep the seeds from the mom who had the best smoke (maybe the others, too, as back-up)?

Or would I germ all three, select only the healthiest, clone her only, and move ahead?

Or am I missing something altogether? :slight_smile:

FYI, I don’t have any regular seeds in my possession at the moment.

This is where the process begins I guess, and I want to make sure I’m thinking about things in a logical way. If you have any ideas, I would welcome your knowledge, as usual.

5 Likes

I have reversed Laughing Buddha before. Your plan to germ and clone seems fine either way, but you need to use silver thiosulfate in my humble opinion. Silver nitrate might work, I don’t know, but STS has always worked for me. There are recipes and instructions on the web. maybe here too if you search.
Good luck.

4 Likes