Building computers

I recently got a free desktop. Its a lenovo and its pretty slim. Im gonna take it apart and turn it into a computer for making music. Anyone else ever build a computer from scratch or upgrade an old one? Id love to see or hear about it!

4 Likes

My easy build… nothing complicated, just folding components.

2 Likes

Not for many years, I have a associates degree in electronics.

3 Likes

Hi Lotus,

Hehehe Im in the same boat as you were not long ago free and single again.

Yeah man I build my own.

I run a desktop I7 overclocked to 4.6ghz with 16gb 1866 dominator ram over clocked too, cooled by a liquid cooler on a maximus extreme mother board, nothing mega for gpu a 8Gb evga gtx 1080Ti, twin ssd hard drives running raid plus 2 x 2 tb 7200rpm all sata 3 hard rives 6gb/s, 7 in 1 card reader, usb 3.0, overclocking gadget for live streaming readings to laptop etc

I built a liquid cooled machine for my friend not long ago hes a musician, guitar player, song writer composer and uses his new machine and many other gadget sfor that purpose producing music.

I also used to build script mining rigs with 6 gpus and 2 power packs to dry the washing heat the house, and mint my alt coins to trade in to btc years ago.

Triple monitor system 3 x 32 " screens.

Currently using my old I3 hp laptop as all my stuff is packed in storage for house renovations currently going on, its a head ache, i hate small keyboards and laptops. i miss my machine amongst other things :laughing::sunglasses:

5 Likes

Haha, Nothing mega for a GPU! It’s only the fastest single gaming GPU that you can currently buy!!! And it can be your for a mere $800+ I’ll trade you my “MEGA” gtx 1060 for your non mega gtx 1080ti… Haha
I’m sorry I could not help but respond to that one, Since it is in fact the fastest gaming GPU you can buy on planet earth right now!:vulcan:

3 Likes

Haha… Most hardware shops now even have special section for cryptocurrency miners :slight_smile: …