Clonex question

Hey guys,

I have some clones I took a week ago that I have just had soaking in good ol water old school style.

I got some clonex now and I am wondering if it would be a bad idea to take the clones that I have been soaking, and use clonex on them now. I am new to cloning and I do not know much about the different methods, or whether this would be just fine.

They have not developed roots yet but are on their way. I just want to speed things up now that I have clonex in hand.

Any help is appreciated.

4 Likes

Well, it certainly couldn’t hurt your clones, but if you plan to dip the stems into the Clonex bottle and then place them back into the water, there might be a couple of considerations.

First, you really don’t want to introduce anything into the Clonex bottle. Your stems have water on them, so if you have a number of clones, this isn’t an ideal thing for the long-term viability of your Clonex.

Second, if you were to place the freshly dipped clones back into your water container, it would basically get diluted back into the water. It would be more effective if you placed the freshly dipped clones into peat pellets, or at the very least, let the Clonex sit on the stems for a while before putting back into the water.

BTW - if you’re water container is a clear glass, you may want to switch it to something that isn’t clear. And if you aren’t sure about the quality or pH of your water, getting a gallon of distilled water for your young clones is never a bad idea.

10 Likes

Thanks for the reply.

I have clonex packets so I can dispose of a contaminated packet afterwards no problem. And I’m really only trying to get 5 clones at the moment so it’s not a crazy amount if that helps.

I have some grodan cubes I was going to go from the water they have been in, to clonex, into the cubes. I was going to pre soak the cubes in the clonex solution I also have now.

At least that is what I was planning on doing.

4 Likes