DIY Bridgelux Build Assistance Please

Hi everyone!

I’m in the market for a new veg light and I thought the EB series would make a fine build.

I have a few questions though if someone would care to chime in.

I want a light that is strong enough to flower also but mainly this is a veg light. Here’s what I’ve come up with.

7 of these guys https://www.digikey.ca/product-detail/en/bridgelux/BXEB-L0590U-35E1500-C-C3/976-BXEB-L0590U-35E1500-C-C3-ND/10279848

And one of these guys.
https://www.digikey.ca/product-detail/en/mean-well-usa-inc/HLG-240H-C1050B/1866-2454-ND/7704010

By my math this will give me 136w or 34w/sqft.

Does this look right? It seems right but I’m not an electronics expert.

Another question. My veg room is 20”x30” and the strips are 23” long. Would the light reach the extra 4” off the end or would I be better to stagger them like this.

Thanks in advance build gurus.

5 Likes

Going backward:

That length strip will provide ample coverage for the 3.5" on either side.

You do not need 7 strips for this size space. 4 will do the trick, unless you’re chasing efficiency by under-driving the strips.

Re: math, watts/sqft is better for HID calculations because the combination of driver and diodes in your space determines your PPF and PPFD. That said, you need someone smarter than I am to figure those numbers out. One of them should chime in soon and may comment about whether the driver is appropriately sized.

Otherwise, the spectrum is right for a multipurpose light (if you’re set on potentially using it for bloom). I’d go 4k in veg, 3k or 3.5k in bloom, but I have serious height limitations and YMMV.

Either way, you might consider the 2nd gen strips if you can find them. Every new gen makes the last gen considerably cheaper and 2nd gen is far from obsolete.

5 Likes

Thanks I appreciate the input. What you’re saying about PPFD is correct but the only metric I can find is lumens. So I kind of had to guess.