How much water? 🐳

High everyone, I have read the FAQ Watering but haven’t found information on this. I have some plants in 5-gallon textile pots (so the roots have more oxygen) and don’t know how much water should I give them. I am giving them almost half gallon each, but next day rhey seem to be thirsty again. I have LED Quantum board, the temperatures are between 21 and 28 \C and humidity 60%. As there is no runoff available I don’t know if I should give them more, thanks 
 :sunglasses:

4 Likes

I’m no expert but I water till there’s a bit of run off then wait till they ask for more. I use the same pots, but 3 gallon. Never had an issue with overwatering.

8 Likes

Thanks for the reply, do you also put something below the textile pots for the runoff? Do the posts resist getting wet? That’s why I water them less , to avoid a wet floor 
 :sunglasses:

3 Likes

I am not good at watering either, I usually grow bottom self feeding. Doing an up pot the other day I noticed just how bad I was. The root ball was only 1/2 way down the pot, and the bottom 1/2 of the soil was virgin dry!
After the up pot I placed a pan under the new pots and watered till “run off”. I was SHOCKED at how much water they needed, over twice what I had been giving them. Been watering that way since, till run off, then till dry
2 weeks now, made a HUGE difference already. Will be watching this thread to make sure I am doing it right, lol.

7 Likes

Throw a cookie sheet it something under them to catch the run off if the bottom of your “room” isn’t water proof

3 Likes

Yes. I use shallow clear plastic things designed to go under potted house plants. Your local garden or home supply store should have something appropriate and affordable.

6 Likes

I think it depends also on your mix.
Potting mixes can be still “thirsty” after a watering if they have peat, vermiculite, pine bark nuggets or especially coco in a significant portion.