Led lighting

Hey guys I’m new to the led world, I have only ever known hid lighting & back when led first came out were rubbish so I stayed right away.
Now I can see the advances they’ve made. So I’m looking to get a good quality one to have coverage of 1.5 mtr x 1.5 mtr footprint.
Some things I don’t understand is the wattages, some say they cover such and such at low wattages but others that have the same coverage but twice the watts. How does all this translate? I have no idea. Any help would be greatly appreciated and recommendations on quality lights that will fit the footprint I need. Thanks heaps guys, peace :v:

8 Likes

You will need more detail and to do more research but a general rule is you need 30w per sq ft for flowering. I run 37.5.

Also be aware there’s a lot of bullshit out there so you need to be very well informed.

8 Likes

Yeah like a lot of lights will advertise that they’re 1000w but theyre actually only 100w or 105w

3 Likes

Look on the specs for “Actual Draw”

6 Likes

Anyone using the word “equivalent” is immediately suspect.

6 Likes

generally the most important thing about LED when you switch is the light distance - many don’t understand thinking that led’s need to be closure to the plant. There is a veg foot print and a flower foot inprint. wattage is directly related to light intensity. there is much info on this subject. I f you want a US made led at very reasonable prices check out Elevated Lighting (was Budget Led’s)(made by Vets) have two of their lights - Consider Quatrum Boards you have less of a heat issue with QB. can’t say enough about this company + great customer service !!!

3 Likes

I would figure out my projected “needs” first.

A relevant metric is called DLI, this is a measurement of how much total light is needed during a 24 period.

Look at the ppfd map of the LED and make sure the light can deliver what you need.

These LED lighting maps can be exaggerated, so make sure they are credible.

4 Likes