Loose bud formation with Autoflower

Hi there troopers,
I am a beginner grower with about 6 summers outdoors growing experience, 4 yrs Ive mixed my grows with AF(autoflowers) .
Over the last year of growing AF I have had 8 plants flower(4 last autumn) with very loose and airy bud formation. It is frustrating trying to understand why and how this is happening. Attached are pictures of a White Widow AF, but the loose bud issue has happened with AK-47 AF and Jack Herer AF.
I grow outdoors in pots/fabric growbags in various soil mixes.
pH of my grow mixes is approx 6.5. I pH tap water to 6.2 - 6.5.
This summer I am using Canna Tera + C Flores nutrients.
For 3-4 yrs I grew AF outdoors in pots/soil mixes with great results.

When the problem first occurred last year, I put it down to the root ball being exposed to cold temperatures as fall kicked in and the overnight temps were 3-5 deg’ C. The plants appear to grow normally but then something happens that causes this issue.
I have read that ‘shorter flowering varieties’ are prone to loose/airy bud formation?
After having 4 AF finish already with loose/airy buds, it is putting me off wanting to grow AF. It is disappointing to put in all the work/time growing to end up with a product that is unattractive from a selling point of view. That said, I use these loosie bud plants for edibles.
This summer down under (Tassie) is cool weather and early summer was non-existent with cold and wet conditions. I think the cold might have something to do with the issue? But other AF have flowered with tight/compact nugs grown in the same grow medium and conditions (water, sunlight, nutes).
I look forward to any replies?
Hastings.

8 Likes

I’m seeing plants that look in quite healthy.
Personally, I think that odd bud formation is genetic. No fault on you.

Cheers
G

4 Likes

I agree with @Gpaw . Genetic . :+1:

1 Like

Thank I had the same problem with we autos last fall

:peace_symbol: and stay safe

1 Like