New to coco grow need some help

Hello all my o g friends I am new to coco after running d w c For many years had to change due to a nasty outbreak of algae I could Not get under control.
So this is my set up.
1 block 650 g core.
1 block 650 g Coco chip.
~20% Perlight

I believe the first mistake Was buying cheap coco.
I didn’t necessarily understand Preloading coco with extremely high levels of calmag before planting.
I am mixing nutrients using the ironhead formula.
At first mixing to an extremely high level of ppm I have since backed off
To PPM of 600 & PH of 5.8. I am using tap water with a starting PPM of ~250
I seem to be finding conflicting evidence online about measuring run off.
My PH has steadily drifted upwards in runoff to 6.5
But I have been able to bring my p p m down to 600 in run off. Yet PH is still 6.5 in run off.

plants have started rebounding from what I believe was a Calcium magnesium deficiency. And nutrient burn. Yet a few of them still look lime green. And others with what I believe is still a bit of Calcium magnesium efficiency.

So I guess what I am asking is the ph. Run off important and if so, how do I lower ph to the correct runoff level of 5.8?

If this is already been posted somewhere else, please redirect me. Thanks for all your help.
It is much appreciated.

5 Likes

6.5 is still o.k. for runoff. 5.8 is a bit low input. They say 6.0-6.5 is good. Cannabis likes it only slightly acidic.
You are going to cherish these plants so why not give them the best coco you can find. I would use the best coco with a good balanced fert. program on the low side E.C.-wise. Let the coco dry out a bit between waterings to concentrate the EC value in the media.

2 Likes

Okay, so as long as my PPM run off is staying around 600 to 700. And my PH run off stays around 6.5. Using General Hydroponics trio, but obviously only using micro and Bloom and cal-mag as per iron head. I should be doing okay? Relatively speaking.