Nutrients that dont play nice with others

I remember reading somewhere along the way that certain nutrients dont get along with others depending on where they are derived from/method of extraction. For the life of me i cant remember what it was. Magnesium? Was wondering if someone might be able to clue me in on just what happened here so I dont make the same mistake in the future:

I initially thought it was a deficiency given the location after I began supplementing calmag from (mega crops) while i was using Advanced Nutrients Sensi A/B.

I have since flushed and appear to have it sorted after using a liquid calmag for coco. Im traditionally an organic(‘ish) soil grower but i like to dabble in coco so im still learning. First time ive had issues in coco, each plant i had done prior went the entire grow without a sad leaf, even the cotyledons stayed healthy through harvest, something I had never seen before.

5 Likes

Could be nutrient burn or lockout? icon_e_confused|nullxnull

1 Like

I have concluded it was locked out, but ec and ph of runoff were both well within range and optimal. I just dont understand why.

3 Likes

K,Ca, and Mg have a certain ratio that must be kept to avoid what is called antagonization. The ratio is usually 3,2,1 K, Ca, Mg. So for instance you would want an elemental ppm of 75 Mg, 150, Ca, and 225 K to avoid the elements antagonizing or “locking out” each. Other elements antagonize other elements as well but K, Ca, Mg are the usual culprits and since Ca is the element that moves most of the other elements through the plant, if Ca, is locked out expect deficiencies from other elements as well.

9 Likes

Leafs are on the darker side of green , and there are some tips clawing

Maybe hit with bloom feed , extra p and k in feed less n

2 Likes

In your particular case, it looks like the start of a K deficiency as K is locked out by excess Ca, and Mg.

6 Likes

Thanks guys.