Strange looking tree...need help identifying.

Hi OG! My neighbors were moving and had a bunch of old trees they never planted. They gave me a few that I planted, but I have one that is still in the pot and I’m not sure what it is. They said it gets little tiny yellow flowers but they didn’t know what it was either.
I think it must’ve been broken. It smells like a mesquite, but it doesn’t have thorns and it’s almost more lemony. I wish I could send the smell through the screen. Anyway, I was wondering if anyone recognizes this leaf pattern or knows what this is?

3 Likes

Supposedly there’s a smartphone app for this… I can’t help otherwise. :blush:

:evergreen_tree:

3 Likes

Thats cool! I’ll have to check that out. Thank you

1 Like

You could possibly be describing a Golden Raintree.
To hard to tell in your pictures, and I am a tree surgeon/arborist.

6 Likes

Acacia tree or mesquite i can’t tell

1 Like

Most mesquites and acacias have thorns……

3 Likes

Creeping Mesquite doesn’t…idk just guessing…i haven’t seen an Acacia tree in many moons…but i have that annoying mesquite all over my property

1 Like

Yep when I lived in Tucson those damn mesquites were everywhere, great for smoking meat, but the pods on those things are a PIA to clean up.

4 Likes

Syrian mesquite?

2 Likes

@tamis Ive been using an app called “Picture This,” its pretty good, idk if there are better ones though. I’ve been wandering through my new yard identifying how many invasive species have come from Asia mostly lol :sweat_smile:

Aye, @Oldjoints do you actually partner with ChipDrop since you’re a arborist? I’ve been waiting for a little bit(5weeks) for a free drop, but nothing yet, I didn’t want any logs in my load though and didn’t pay any $, do you think that might be why I haven’t received a load yet? :no_mouth:

1 Like