Weed/alc topical?

A while back my gf mom sent her some edibles and stuff, with it all was a jar with cannabis leaves soaking in rubbing alcohol. She said you get a brush and rub it on soar muscles or achy backs and it relieves the muscles. I know you extract thc this way, but doesn’t the buds have to be cooked first to release the thc? So with just leaf matter in it, is this even a legit topical medication? I’ve never seen that one before. I’m very new to diverse uses of the plant but will be eager to learn as soon as my first harvest is ready for ideas to put the whole plant to use.

8 Likes

So you only need to decarb cannabis to make it active when taken orally (assuming you want to get high). THCA (not decarbed) is still an effective anti-inflammatory. This is why that particular topical works. My issue with it is it does tend to leave behind a green tint.

9 Likes

Change the label to ‘Hulk Balm’, easy fix

12 Likes

yeah the alcohol strips the material it only needs decarb for edibles as reikox said. But alcohol is a good solvent for almost anything. Then alcohol is also easy absorbed through your skin with everything it has in it. So i could see it having some effect.

3 Likes

Not for human consumption and very green.

I haven’t rubbed it on my body.

4 Likes

Don’t forget rubbing alcohol in and of itself is a topical.

6 Likes

I’ve had great success with coconut oil extracts applied topically. I just use coconut oil and flowers, never bothered with further processing. It’s great for muscle and joint pain, makes for a nice massage oil, and a couple drops in your tea isn’t so bad either.

To quote Patrick Bateman “Alcohol dries out your skin and makes you appear older.”

4 Likes

Here is my topical recipe. I use the roots in my topicals, they have a lot of healing properties, but are not necessarily safe for oral consumption.

5 Likes

Tincture in a Hydrochloric acid bottle… nice one!
:sunglasses: :+1:

Cheers
G

4 Likes