What’s up with this?

Hello OG nerds, I have something interesting going on with a plant I haven’t encountered before and of course I thought where better to go to help potentially solve this bizarre riddle, or at least throw around some possibilities.

So I have this plant that I have been working on for probably 5 years or so now, it’s the one in the front:

There is a great deal to like about the plant hence my persistence, but it’s always been a little weird in that even though it’s a regular, only about 1 in 10 plants will end up being male.
The females also seemingly have low fertility, so that even with a male right next to them and much encouragement they don’t produce heaps of seeds, now here is where it gets really weird. I decided to clone a good pheno to try and make some fem seeds just using regular STS, same way I’ve done with different plants countless times. The females had no problem reversing, lots of flowers, but only a tiny smear of pollen produced (annoying but not that uncommon) BUT that pollen is seemingly self incompatible.
It won’t fertilize itself; but it will fertilize another different female variety, though only at very low rates.
Anyone had anything like this before or any who has any thoughts of what might be happening?

18 Likes

Sounds like it could be a triploid… they characteristically have extremely low rates of fertility, whether male or female. If that’s the case it’s probably not a coincidence that you haven’t managed to self-pollinate it; each grain of pollen that meets a pistil has roughly a 1/1000 chance for the stars to align in meiosis and produce a fully functional diploid, as well as a useless haploid. 999/1000 both of them will be mixed up and useless in producing offspring. For a triploid reproducing with another triploid, or itself, you have to get those 1/1000 chances to happen simultaneously… so you’re looking at a literally one-in-a-million seed.

13 Likes