48 hours of light before harvest?

In an interview with Dr. Bruce Bugbee around’ish a year or so ago, he stated that 48 hours of light before harvest is actually more beneficial for the plant than darkness. I couldn’t find any other articles or video’s related to doing a 48 hour light period, only info on the now debunked darkness cycle before harvest. So I wondered if any you have tried it or had educated thoughts on whether or not it had or would have any noticeable benefit to the harvested bud? I am at the end of my first grow and heavily debating doing it even though I have no previous experience or harvest to make any sort of comparison to.

8 Likes

Not sure if two days of anything at the end of the grow would show any noticeable differences. Light or dark. Some people drive a nail through the stem to stress the plant out and only harvest in the dark. Weed growers do some weird things. I used to put things in the dark and stopped because I never ever noticed a difference but that’s what my uncle told me to do so I did it for years lol

15 Likes

Yes, this is the conclusion I’ve also come to when I’ve been reading more scientific methods of doing experiments with these type of methods.

What seem to give the highest quality is giving a stable environment that cover all needs. Unsurprisingly :grin:

Pz :v:t2:

18 Likes

According to Dr Bugbee, studies done by colleagues of his but not by him, the extended light helps the plant produce more terpenes in that final period before harvest. I’m not attempting to debate, just offering what was said in the hopes of starting a “fruitful”(pun intended) conversation.

9 Likes

I just keep it simple. I don’t even flush anymore….gasp

18 Likes

Just let them do their thing. Easy enough.

18 Likes