Do you have rules about when you cut your plant down?

• Cut in dark only after 12+ hours darkness
  • Cut whenever I have time
  • I didn’t know it mattered

0 voters

5 Likes

Whenever for me, I don’t think it makes a huge difference. I like the pots to be pretty much dry when I chop, give the dry time a little headstart lol

6 Likes

I voted but the only rule I have is a 12 pk of mill st organic must be cold and within a 10 ft radius

9 Likes

As a retired Chef I tend towards harvesting always first thing in the morning hours no different than with any other herb…

6 Likes

If you’re harvesting healthy flowering plants, I don’t think it would matter much either way. Maybe there’d be less sugars in the flowers at the end of the dark cycle, and therefore have a slightly easier cure. But I can’t imagine it would make a significant difference compared to proper drying/curing technique.

3 Likes

My rule is any scissor hash is mine don’t matter how many pairs are getting used ! And if you trim nice I’ll share .

3 Likes

I only chop alone, usually on a Monday and never before a cup of tea.

7 Likes

I cut it when she tells me she’s ready, swollen calyxes ,receding pistils and trichomes are just a few ways to tell … for me anytime is the right time to Harvest.

7 Likes

You misspelled Mill St stock ale :thinking:

1 Like

Indoors I always cut in the dark after 12+ hours darkness.
Outdoors I don’t cut in the dark but I do cut in the morning if there’s no dew. If it’s wet I’ll wait till it’s dry.
The science makes sense to me but I’m sure the difference is minor if any.
Some friends do a couple days of darkness and say they get increased frost. I’ve never seen it make a difference myself.

4 Likes

I cut in the dark, but dont worry about the 12 hour deal. Usually a minimum of 2 hours is good. I’ve seen no difference between 6-48 hours of darkness…

5 Likes

Alright, what’s cutting it down in the dark supposed to do? You gotta sneak up on it or something?

8 Likes