Are there any welders here!?!?!

I’m 33 and a structural steel erector, welder/fabricator. I’ve been doing it for about 12 years or so and growing weed for 5, indoors for 2.

I’d just like to start a community of like minded individuals and see where it takes off!!

10 Likes

I worked out of a local Iron Workers Union 20 years . Mostly high rise . Went through punkin school, lol . Mostly a connector , but can certainly run a stick with anyone . After my 4 th close friend died i gave it up and never looked back .
I also grow weed :+1:

6 Likes

Did structural ironwork for 2 years. Spent most time on bolt up crews and laying deck. Learned alot working with older welders. Never had a job that made me as proud of my work day to day. Im sure I took a few years off my knees but fuck it

7 Likes

I’m a ticketted steel fabricator (canada) although my workplace accident in 97 put me out of the trade for the most part. Our shop specialized in heavy steel applications fabricating pile drivers, natural gas and pipeline spans (bridging) and forestry and rail bridges. I got crushed by a 400lbs + tank on a rail bridge instal site and that ended things for some time. I have taken a few big money jobs for a friends company but that is all custom stainless fab and a lot lighter work than when I was full time in the trades. I have a pretty well set up shop here and fabricate/weld as mostly a hobby on personal projects these days. In the midst of an offroad hunting trailer build right now.

10 Likes

Hobby level, basically. Built a wood stove for the garage last week with sticks. Also, do some aluminum wire feed that looks far from professional.

3 Likes

I stick metal together. Wouldn’t ever call myself a welder. I tig stainless for work at times. Trying to get my trainee into school for it now though. Our company could use another 1 or 2 sanitary welders.

2 Likes

Yeah gorilla tents are strong but they ain’t got nothing on this angle iron 4x4!

4 Likes