Autoflower seedlings and dumb mistake

This is my first time growing autoflowers, and my first time in a new environment (high desert indoor grow).

I have some 8 day old seedlings that I don’t think are doing well. I stupidly messed up and added twice the amount of organic nutrients to the soil as I was supposed to when building the mix. I realized this the day after getting the seeds into the coir, but figured I may as well wait and see if it would be a problem (or how big of one). They seem too pale in the center and I figure this is probably due to excess nutrients, but I’m also unfamiliar with autoflowers so…

I am in coir (plain brick coir), 5 gallon fabric pots with perlite and worm castings added. I am using Gaia Green for nutrients. Humidity is 70% and temps are low 60F with lights off and get up to around 67F or so with lights on (still winter temps here). I know temps would ideally be higher, but it isn’t really possible at the moment. Light is a 300W LED at 25% intensity 2 feet from the soil surface. I get a PPFD reading (using Photone app) of 250.

Is there anything I can do to recover from this, or should I start with new seeds and coir mix (with CORRECT nute proportions this time!). I did intentionally select the freebie seeds I received with a seed order in case I messed up (and I did!) and they looked pretty small so I’m not super invested in the outcome just yet. But I’d hate to waste time waiting for something that will end up failing in the end. I’d appreciate any thoughts about it.

4 Likes

No worries, you can do a simple flush with water.
Coir is not my normal media so other folks will give you the details.

Cheers
G

5 Likes

Autos are low feeders, agree with the flushing, I would give them just plain water for some days and see how they react, what is the EC and pH while watering them? icon_e_confused|nullxnull

3 Likes

Organics and cocoa can be tricky. Its not this and it’s not that .