Beginning grower needing some advice on equipment

I am new to growing and am in my first grow ever, which I am doing outdoors currently. I want to start indoors soon. I have no equipment yet. I was offered these 2 lights for $175
*1000w Hps grow light w/ reflective shield and large tube for removing heat

*400 Metal Halide grow light w/reflective shield

Is this a good deal? Fair deal? I do not have much more information on them. I found them on Craigslist.

If I would get them, what size tent would you recommend? Any and all suggestions is appreciated.

3 Likes

I would say a 4x4 tent , 6" duct fan & carbon filter. Thats definitely a fair price assuming its not really old

5 Likes

Thanks Dank-D. Anything I should check on when I see them besides the obvious?

2 Likes

I would make sure they work and ask when the bulbs were last replaced. If it has been a while I’d offer a little less.

3 Likes

Great thanks. I figured making sure they worked, were not beat up and cords. Did not think of when the bulbs were replaced. I was planning on a 4 x 4 tent. Starting out, would you recommend to just have one tent for all, or should I get a smaller tent for veg cycle, then get a bigger one later for flowering? Thanks again for the time and information.

3 Likes

It’s definitely helpful to veg in 1 tent and flower in another. That way you can get set up for your next run a head of time. Its not necessary to have 2 tents but saves time and time is money

2 Likes

what kind of ballast? what kind of bulbs do they run? single ended? double ended?

do they come with bulbs? how many hours?

new stuff can be bought cheap with a bit of searching

makes it easier to buy what you want/need instead of what someone is try to

get rid of

all the best

Dequilo

4 Likes

If the ballast is a old Chinese import they can get hot
I recommend you have a small fan blowing directly on it it will keep the damn thing cool and it will last longer
I ran mine for 5 years non stop