Black widow seeds not germinating?

Hi All,
Happy to have found this site, which seems to have experienced growers rather than all the reddit boards and sites where folks don’t seem to know what they’re talking about.

Anyway… I’M still a bit of a noob!
Been growing continuosly at home for about 3 years. Always fem seeds. Learned a lot so far, always had good success. So far, grown White Widow, Blue Dream, Jack Herer, Northern Lights, Blueberry.

But, decided I wanted to stop buying seeds. So, thought I could just grow my own.
I ordered a pack of Black Widow seeds from Mr Nice (White Widow is my favorite, and I figured Shantibaba’s must be the best I will find anywhere)

First attempt. Germinated 4 seeds. All super healthy. But, bad luck… all 4 were males. :unamused:
Popped 3 more, and got 2 nice females.

Finally picked one robust, stinky male, and 1 strong female, and stuck them in a tent together.
Let the female plant go about 9 weeks. Harvested and hung to dry for about 9 days, until seeds were starting to drop from the pods.
I got >100 seeds that were nicely speckled brown. All greenish ones I tossed. In fact, my seeds looked better than the ones I got from Mr Nice (some were pale)

Couple weeks later, decided to germ 10 seeds, to check success rates.
0%! none germinated, using same germ technique I’ve always used.

Having experience with other seeds that need a cold dormant period (like apple seeds) before they germ, I tried that… I tossed some into a container in the fridge for 3 weeks.

Tried again to germinate 10.
0% success.
:astonished:

Any idea what I might have done wrong?
Did the plants need to go even longer for the seeds to mature more?
Could my male be producing all sterile offspring?

Thanks in advance!
:v:

12 Likes

That’s strange. You started them in flowering together at the same time?

Yes. both put into flowering at the same time.
The male pollen sacks started popping open after about 3-4 weeks (what a mess it made!)