Breeding Questions Easy

Just a couple questions in the process I’d like to undertake creating my own cross.
After the initial cross of 2 plants and creation of seeds, I then do a pheno grow, where I grow out say a dozen females and choose the strongest pheno. Or the most desirable one. Once that has been established, I am curious about the back-crossing process.
Once I have the dominate plant I want, what is the best process to F1 and or S1 it? Should I first clone that plant and then reverse the clone? Or simply reverse the dominant plant I’ve chosen from the pheno grow?
I realize I’m new to this, I think I’m kind of on the right track, I realize the commitment and time this is going to take. As I’m doing this all outdoors, not indoors, it may be a three year commitment.
I would be grateful for any and all advice and guidance.
Blessings

8 Likes

Great question… I will be curious to hear people’s methods in here and how certain people would approach this as I intend to take on a CBD project here shortly in the near future.

At the current moment I have not gone in depth enough to call anything I have made anything other than a pollen chuck. :laughing:

Looking forward to seeing your results and others input for sure on this one…

1 Like

I’d take clones and then reverse the dominant plant.
You can hold viable pollen for years. That would give you some flexibility.

Cheers
G

4 Likes

Backcrossing is taking an f2 and breeding it with the f1 parents. So you would need to keep the parents/pollen around of the f1 generation to be able to bx. Making an s1 I would definitely take clones of all the females you will use to make feminized pollen. Then take that pollen to the clones you took and you have your s1 generation.

6 Likes