Strategies for preserving “Elites/clone only” in seed form

Good evening all,
Been thinking about different approaches to preserving some of the elites and keepers that I have in seed form. I have two ideas so far.

First approach, is just making S1’s of each cut. That will take a lot of time for each project and from what I’ve read it can be difficult to find near replicas of the original in S1’s.

Second approach, would be to find a recessive male or male with easy to identify characteristics that would allow me to find the mom leaners in progeny. That approach is attractive because I could knock up 40-50 keepers in one run. If I kept that male I could do one run every year to back up the elites and keepers found that year.
From listening to some breeders it sounds like it might be easier to find near replicas of original in hybrids.

Curious if anyone has any different ideas or suggestions??
Thanks!

10 Likes

open pollination for preservation fosho

2 Likes

I’m no expert, just another traveler on the same path.

S1s are an easy approach but I’ve seen several warnings that they are not a good approach for future breeding projects due to double recessives and potentially increased herms (eg DJ Short).

I’m thinking a good approach is cross to a ‘sympathetic’ male and then a couple back-crosses to the elite clone stock.
My definition of a ‘sympathetic male’ is stable and complementary attributes.

Cheers
G

13 Likes

Open pollination makes total sense if I’m starting with a pack or 2 of regular seeds.
How would you propose open pollinating a clone only such as an old sour diesel cut?

2 Likes