BushDoctor coco Loco

So I bought a huge bag of this, do I mix anything with it? Ewc?

4 Likes

I would also love an answer to this I am in the same boat I bought it when i didn’t know much and now I’m not sure what to do with it lol

2 Likes

Same as the others just with coco. Still needs to be fed.

1 Like

This is my “goto” atm. There are supplements. This isn’t straight coco coir. -just a note there. I still add perlite and dolomite lime and pour boiling water through it for sterilization.

1 Like

So (bear with me I’m a noob) you can grow in just Coco loco as long as you are giving all the nutes? I have the gaia green powder nutes 444 and 284 would I just mix some of that in before potting? And then top dress afterwards when it needs it. Also are you saying add more perilite to it the bag says it’s 70%coco 30%perlite and wheat does dolomite lime do exactly? Also I heard when using Coco coir you have to use a different pH when watering is that true? Lol sorry for all the questions I had a bag of some strawberry fields but last time I opened it looked/smelled no Bueno. So now I’d like to make use of this Coco loco if I can

1 Like

Yes you can grow in straight coco loco. It does have some nutrients in it. I water the first time and let it set a couple days before I water again.

1 Like

Yes- in straight coco what you put in, nutrient wise is what the plant gets. (FoxFarms brands their straight coco as “Big Boy Pants”. Always wondered if that was like “ya better know what you’re doing.” ?

But coco loco is supplemented with organic nutrients, mycobacterium, and has some intrinsic nutritional value. It seems like most soil based grows, for me it runs out of steam before flowering finish.

It may be that because I add perlite to increase oxygen and help ensure good drainage my “juice” runs out faster. ?

I think it helps and my roots seem to thrive.