Edibles question

So I’m new to making edibles, and am confused on the process. So you have to decarb the weed to activate the thc for psychoactive consumption. Then you cook the weed in with the butter so the thc jumps from the weed to the fat in the butter. Then you bake it. So there’s 3 times the weed is getting hot, so why even decarb it in the first place? Wouldn’t cooking it in the butter decarb it at the same time to skip the first step? And decarbing you have to keep it under 240 degrees or the thc degrades to cbn or CBD right? So when you bake cookies at 350 doesn’t that do the same thing? So couldn’t you really just break up the weed and dump it in cookie batter and when it bakes it will decarb it?? It’s just confusing to me and hoping someone can help me understand it?

3 Likes

Decarbing is a low and slow process. Lower than you’d bake cookies and much longer than you’d bake them.

1 Like

I decarb in boiling water which is 212 for 45 minutes. I use butter. It is plenty psychoactive at this point.

I often make cookies which means another 11 minutes at 340

All the best

1 Like

The recipe I saw after the 40 minute decarb you simmer bud in butter and water for like 3 hours. So wouldn’t that decarb it as well?

You are asking the right questions. :+1:

THCa decarbs to THC which will degrade to CBN.
You’re correct, if you are cooking with the extract then that counts towards the decarb time and can be factored in.

The various curves gives you a ‘feel’ for time vs temperature.

Cheers
G

12 Likes

Decarb > Infuse > Bake/Cook

Try putting cannabis straight into Cookies. It’s not that it doesn’t work, but it’s not the best use of the product, and cookies with pieces of cannabis are pretty nasty. :+1:

If you eat a raw bud it will not really get you high. When you smoke/vape bud you heat it and it gets you high. You are converting inactive thc (THCA) into active thc (THC) with heat. This is why you decarb - to get the most out of your product.