Full blast or half power?

So I just got a 2nd 1200w led and I also have four led bulbs in my setup. Shouldn’t I turn both 1200w’s and the other four bulbs on when my seedling shows leaves? As long as it’s not too close I should blast it with as much light as possible right? (Btw this is in a 4x4x7’ tent that I’ll have four plants in) And what do ppl think of 24/7 light vs 18 hours on/6 hours off type of schedule?

3 Likes

Are they photo or auto? I’m no expert, but I keep seeing @ReikoX mention that autos don’t need as much intensity as photos. Correct me if I’m wrong of course. I just remember being told too much light can stress them too much.

24/7 I will say isn’t recommended for photos. They need their dark cycle to grow properly. Photos grow during the dark cycle mainly.

From the growfaqs I’ve seen that even a 24/7 isn’t the best on a auto either. They benefit more from a 20 on and 4 off cycle.
I’ve heard of some people getting a benefit from a 20-24 on and 6-8 hours off cycle, but that’s not a natural cycle and I can’t say anything about stuff I don’t know about. I’ll let those more knowledgeable and experienced than myself to correct or collaborate what I said.

2 Likes

You can either back the light off or keep it close but with less power. It’s the same either way, just go about increasing the light intensity slowly. I prefer to veg at 18/6 for photos. I run autos 20/4 all the way through.

4 Likes

I have absolutely no idea what those seeds are. I haven’t tried autos or photos and I’m not totally clear on what they are, I’m about to hit the books on that. Surprised I haven’t yet lol. Only one I know for sure is a Neville’s haze fem. I’ll start out with one of the big lights for now. Last grow I did 20on/4off for veg stage so maybe I’ll stick with that

1 Like