A Layman Looks at the Electric

Hey, everybody! Hope you’re all well, and everyone’s gardens are running smoothly.
We’re between runs here, and getting some other chores done in the meanwhile, including replacing a bathroom exhaust fan. Long story short, that project met an impasse when we found some weird wiring installed before we owned the place. Gonna have to call in an electrician to figure that out, but it’s all got me thinking about the wiring in the garden.
As a disclaimer, I am not an electrician, and may have some things about load capacity and the like backwards in my head.
We grow in a spare bedroom, which is on its own 15 amp breaker. That’s split between 4 standard grounded American 115V outlets and one switch for the exhaust fan. With all our equipment running at full-bore, which never happens, we have calculated our Wattage at about 756W and Amperage at something along the lines of 7.09A.
My main question to anyone with a better understanding than me would be if that load seems safe for the size of the circuit? Even if it is, is there any recommendation to shore up the supply for that room? We do have extra space on the house’s panel for expansion. Would putting that room on a 20 amp breaker be a safer idea? Would it be better to split the outlets to two seperate circuits? How do I even calculate the load to check if I’m at the recommended 80% or lower to the max capacity?
We’ve never blown that breaker, or noticed any strange heat sources, etc. but we’re kind of in the dark on this, no pun intended, unsure of what to even ask a pro for possible help with. (We’re in a legal state and muni, so no concern of the contractors outside of general security)
Thanks in advance for any tips or advice.
Stay up!
Coffin_Dodger
:ghost: :raccoon:

7 Likes

Spanish here, 230V and normative/laws for installations sure are different. But …